Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Yoga for?

Let's say you have a skill to teach yoga, why would you stop there? Why wouldn't you find a niche market and start having very specific forms of yoga meditation? In a saturated market it would make sense to try and differentiatie. Yoga for golfers, yoga for soccer moms........the list is endless.

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Sunday, September 20, 2009

The Seven Chakras and Their Meaning: Part 7 Sahasrara/Crown Chakra

The Sanskrit name for the crown chakra is the sahasrara chakra. Sahasrara means “thousand” or “thousandfold.” The symbol for this chakra is a lotus with a thousand petals. The number one thousands serves to represent the highest fulfillment and perfection.

The crown chakra is also known as the thousand-petaled lotus or simply the seventh chakra.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

The Seven Chakras and Their Meaning: Part 6 Ajna/Forehead Chakra

The forehead chakra is the center of awareness and intuition. In Sanskrit, it is called the ajna chakra. Anja means “to know or perceive.” Higher knowledge can be obtained only by stepping beyond duality. The two most important energy pathways, pingala and ida, end in the ajna chakra. These two currents of energy represent duality – the sun and the moon, masculine and feminine – and they meet in this chakra. By meditating upon it, one can attain freedom from dualistic thinking.

Sunday, August 23, 2009

The Seven Chakras and Their Meaning: Part 5 Vishuddha/Throat Chakra

The throat chakra in Sanskrit is called the vishuddha chakra. Vishuddhi means “pure.” Consciousness of language and truth belong to this level. Its role is to pruify awareness and provide inner clarity. The vishuddha chakra is also called the neck chakra, the communication chakra and the fifth chakra.

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

The Seven Chakras and Their Meaning: Part 2 Sacral/Sexual Chakra

The sacral chakra is the center of sensuality and sexuality. The Sanskrit word svadhisthana means “sweetness” or “loveliness.” It can also translates as “one’s home base.” The sacral chakra is also called the sexual chakra or the second chakra. The most depictions of the sacral chakra show a flower with six petals six Sanskrit syllables correspond to the petals: bam, bham, mam, yam, ram, and lam. The principal mantra used in chakra yoga to activate its energies is VAM (pronounced VANG).

Monday, August 10, 2009

The Seven Chakras and Their Meaning: Part 1 Svadhisthana/Root Chakra

The root chakra is the lowest chakra and as such is the foundation of all the other chakras. Its Sanskrit name is muladhara: mula meaning “root” and adhara meaning “support.” This chakra is also referred to as the base center, the root center or the first chakra. Ancient Hindu depictions portray the root chakra as a four-petaled flower.

In Tibetan buddhism, the point at the crown of the head is represented by a white circle, with 32 downward pointing petals. It is of primary importance in the performance of phowa, or consciousness projection after death, in order to obtain rebirth in a Pure Land. Within this chakra is contained the White drop, or Bodhicitta, which is the essence of masculine energy.